Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Based on what I have read, they seem to be a good all around tire. I am not racing, not knee dragging and not riding in the rain or snow. I want to ride longer distances and be comfortable, so I'm looking for a llong-lasting tire that's going to give me decent performance at a good price-point.

Any thoughts on this particular tire, or others I should be looking at? Do you buy online and then have the local shop mount them? Or, is there not that much of a difference in just buying at the local shop?

I am a total noob to this, so thoughts and opinions are more than appreciated. Also, I did use the search feature, which is how I found this tire. Couldn't find a lot of info otherwise. Thanks so much.

·
Premium Member
1,471 Posts
The tire referenced in the ADV thread is a Shinko 705, commonly used on WeeStroms (DL650) or similar Adventure-Tour bikes such as his GS. I have used the Shinko 705s on my DL650k8 and liked them overall, but they did have a problem with cracking where the rubber blocks meet the tire. While I believe the cracking has been associated with lower pressures, this guy was running 40 psi. Personally, I liked the Shinko 705s for their reasonably good on and offroad performance, mileage (I typically got around 9-10K miles or more out of a set) and low price, but you need to keep an eye on the tires.
I just tried Conti Motion ST tires on my SV650AK7 and while I like their performance, I don't seem to be getting as many miles out of them as I was getting w/my Shinko 009s, so I may switch back. I let one of my front 009s go too long before replacing it and it started to delaminate but it was already at a mileage point where it should have been replaced. Again, just keep an eye on your tire pressures and inspect your tires frequently, something you should do anyway just as part of safe motorcycling.