Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, need some help here. Replaced the battery and ignition switch and now the bike has no power. Main fuse pops every time I turn the ignition to ON or PARK. The battery reads 12.6V. Voltmeter shows I have voltage at the 10 amp meter fuse, 30amp main fuse, and the red wire at the ignition switch and R/R. The bike does have some jank wiring in the front headlight area as well as the tail from the previous owner, but I have already wrapped everything and can't see any exposed wires. Ignition switch I just installed is from eBay so its definitely a possibility I received a defective part. I dont have the old ignition switch anymore so I cant test with that. I'm a novice when it comes to electrical stuff, so any insight would be very helpful.

·
Super Moderator
8,914 Posts
Main fuse pops every time I turn the ignition to ON or PARK.
A short to ground on the license plate Brown wire in the tail section can cause that.

As a quick test, 1) put the ignition switch in PARK position (this will connect only Red to Brown), 2) with the ignition still in PARK, replace the 30A main fuse. If the 30A immediately blows again, that confirms a short on Brown.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
A short to ground on the license plate Brown wire in the tail section can cause that.

As a quick test, 1) put the ignition switch in PARK position (this will connect only Red to Brown), 2) with the ignition still in PARK, replace the 30A main fuse. If the 30A immediately blows again, that confirms a short on Brown.
Yes I have already done this and it blew the main fuse immediately. So sounds like I need to do some more thorough investigating to find where the brown wire is shorting. I’ll let you know what I find, thanks.

·
Super Moderator
8,914 Posts
(y)