Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
During a ride with a Ducatti rider I noticed him ride no hands for some distance. While this is probably no trick for an experienced rider I find that if I remove my hand off the throttle (to stretch fingers, adjustmirror etc.) my bike slows right down due to the SV's torque. This happens regardless of gear or RPM range. So here's my questions. Is this normal to all SV's? Is their an adjustment to slow the return rate of the throttle? AS far as I'm concerned the throttle cables are within spec. of the owners manual. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
2,009 Posts
well....riding with no hands is not something I would do. I'm still relatively new to riding myself (about 5000 miles under my belt), and I'm sure I wouldnt be able to keep my balance.

the bike slowing when you take your hand off the throttle...it's called engine braking, and it's a normal thing with the SV.

the throttle is supposed to snap all the way closed when you let your hand completely off of it. it's a safety thing...if you get thrown off your bike, you wouldnt want it to have a stuck wide open throttle and start chasing you down the road.

there are a few options that allow you to stretch out your right hand for short periods...throttle rocker is a cheap one. there are also throttle locks (I have one, it's great...but I only use it for short periods, just long enough to shake my right hand out a little bit).

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Yeah, the SV's v-twin has a good bit of engine braking. Yours sounds perfectly normal. I would think a Ducati v-twin would have a similar amount of engine braking too - but I've never ridden one. I know the newer Ducatis come with "slipper" clutches - which allow the rear wheel to freewheel or slip when you downgear (maybe when you simply close the throttle if it's adjusted that way), so maybe that's what's going on with your friend's bike.

·
Registered
5,127 Posts