Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all!! ;D

I'm a newbie to the sv but not to bikes. I ride an old school yamaha xs11 that I brought back from the dead.

I'm looking at a 99 sv650 with 25k on it, a 1k rpm idle and a brake light that never turns off.

First things first, I'll try to get that idle down and i'll search for what that's supposed to be. It can't be too high. My bike's an inline 4 and idles around 1.2k. This should be a lot lower. I'm going to check any vacuum lines for leaks, then clean the carbs, sync them, and see if I can get my idle down to where it's supposed to be. I don't know how these carbs work, so if there's something special I should be aware of, please let me know.

Then, I'll trouble shoot that brake light. Fuses, both front and rear brake levers to make sure they aren't sticking or the electricals aren't corroded or fouled up causing that connection. I'm not sure how the brake light gets it's signal to light up on these bikes, so I'll search that too.

And finally, I'll check the valves to see if they need adjusting. Not sure what the adjustment period is, but if it needs it...might as well. Obviously, I will change oil, coolant and brake fluid before doing any of this.

Any tips? Suggestions? I'm here in Austin TX if any of you guys are local.

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
First of all, the idle should be around 1,300 rpm.

For the brake light, check the sender at the rear brake pedal. They're a fairly common piece to fail on older bikes.

I'm in Dallas. Quite a few folk in this area!

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok...I mis-spoke. The idle is 1k too high...not 1k. I'm actually pretty surprised that it idles past 1k...then again...its a completely new bike to me that I know NOTHING about. :)

good thing svrider.com exists... :)

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #5