Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi *,
Not just new to SV's...I'm new to motorcycles.

I'd been researching ADV bike before the lockdown, but before I could go to showrooms everything was closed. I initially was looking at the BMW 310gs, Versys 300, RE Himalyan and CB500x. The CB500x was the only one that had enough power for freeway use, but when I finally was able to sit on one it was too big.

Then I started looking at FZ07, but saw a lot of review comparison with Z650 and SV650. I was excited when a local dealer had all three and was open by appt. As my first bike, I was really price driven. So my first choice was the FZ07 with 14kmi, Z650 w/3kmi, and then SV650 with 1200mi. The FZ was $4+K, the Z650 $5+k and the SV650 $6+k

When I got to the dealer, the FZ07 and Z650 had sold. They let me sit on all of them and the SV650 and Z650 fit the best....although above my original budget, I really like how the SV650 looked and started getting emotionally attached =)

....and that's how I became the proud owner of 2019 SV650 ABS with 1215miles =)....and it was delivered on the morning I got my motorcycle permit (yes DMV was open) I'm enrolled in a MSF course 5/30 so I should have my full license in June.

I did take it around the neighborhood when it was delivered. I drive a 4Runner with a manual so shifting was easy. Managing the throttle is going to be my challenge. That all the riding for now, until my helmet (HJC ARPHA 90) arrives (Tue 5/26).

I've been scrounging for used MC gear - I got a nice First Gear mesh jacket w/liner (and gloves) for $80 and Sidi boots for $40, the only new gear I've bought was the helmet.

I did my first mod today I put on Shogun frame sliders....because I'm a newbie.

I'm anxious and excited to start riding!

·
Registered
27 Posts