Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello all,

I just got a 05 SV1000s and put my first 100 miles on it. I'm new to riding but took the beginner MSF course and learned quite a bit. I have heard that having a 1000 is suicide for my first bike but I got a great deal and have been pretty much keeping it to the side streets and the parking lot where I have been practicing. I plan to get out on the roads in the next few weeks and the highway in the next few months when I get comfortable. Any thoughts, suggestions, or tips would be much appreciated.

Thanks
I'm in the DFW area in Cedar Hill, TX

·
site supporter
6,095 Posts
I have heard that having a 1000 is suicide for my first bike but I got a great deal
:roflmao:I'm not gonna even comment.

If you're an idiot, you can make a "suicide bike" out of a CB175. If you ride and learn, you'll be OK. Welcome to riding.
Ride well and be happy.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks i'm taking it slow and only recently ventured down a country road and back home with a little light traffic. it was fun and scary all at the same time.

·
Chief Greeter
28,482 Posts
Hi terril00, Welcome to SVR. Practice and ride all you can to get used to the bike and riding.

Have fun and ride safe!

·
Registered
30 Posts
welcome to the addiction! while an sv1000 isn't always the best option, it's better than any of the I4 liter bikes for sure

·
Registered
2,849 Posts
Welcome! Be careful and practice all you can in empty parking lots, at least if you fall down you don't have to worry about a car running over you.

Also, +1 to what eddie said.

·
Registered
2,804 Posts
Welcome!

·
Premium Member
3,378 Posts
Welcome to the site and to riding. Take it slow and keep your ego in check and you should be fine.

Most people say it's not a matter of IF you'll crash but WHEN. That statement still keeps me on my toes and cautious.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #10