Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey everyone,

i am new to the sport. i took a trip in Asia a few years back and rode an automatic clutch 125cc bike around parts of Thailand which served as my introduction and now have the money to take the full plunge. i am in the process of getting my license and am looking forward to getting out there!

i have a question about the SV650 and touring. eventually i would like to do some touring in North America and due to its great reviews and accessibility to novice riders have been interested in getting an SV650. i noticed that even though this bike is naked it got pretty good touring reviews over at bikez.com. one of the reasons i am interested in this bike is the relativey upright riding position, as due to some shoulder tendinitis i want to stay away from the 650s and similar sportbikes which due to their more hunched positioning stress your shoulders and forearms more.

my question is i have noticed that some things i have read  have stated that bikes such as the sv650 and honda 599 aren't the best for touring due to the lack of fairing and wind protection. this wasn't a problem in Asia but to be fair (no pun intended) i was only going about 90k an hour(about 55mph). i was hoping you experienced SV riders could give some insight into this if possible..it would be much appreciated! thanks :)

·
Registered
38 Posts
The Naked SV works fine for touring. I did a few weekend trips on mine before I installed a fairing, it was okay but a bit tiring for me up to about 70-75 mph on an all day ride. I have since added a GIVI 760 fairing and now there is no problem at all. All day at 80 is fine. The 760 came in the correct blue for my '03, but the 755 is just a little smaller, would have been my first choice if the color had been right.
I also went up 1 tooth on the countershaft sprocket; lowered rpm about 500 or so at 70mph, improved gas mileage about 5-7%.