Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts
F

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:)Greetings all!

I'm new to the world of motorcycling but am about to purchase an sv650k this week (at least i hope to).
I'm wondering if this is a good bike for a noob?

My msf class isn't until the 16th of sept but i want to go ahead and get my bike while the wife is still in tune w/the idea if ya know what i mean.

Is this a solid machine that i can grow into?

·
Premium Member
1,583 Posts
You will get both responses here as many people think that it is too much bike for a new rider. I started on my SV and I have had a great time on it - I think that as long as you have a cool head and don't ride above your limits, you should be fine.
You might want to invest in frame sliders though www.motosliders.com

·
Registered
332 Posts
I'll leave the "is this a good bike to start" to others but, as far as can you grow into it?

My SV's where my 4th & 5th bikes, I had 7yrs of riding in at the time and still had a blast with them (and kinda mis them now, 3yrs later).

·
Registered
280 Posts
Welcome to SVRider!

The SV was my first bike, and I'm still happy with it 3 years later. I have no regrets buying it as my first.

F

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Cool..thanks people!

Yep, i know it's pretty powerful for a noob but I have been putting off owning a bike for 11yrs because i didn't
feel like i could resist twisting the throttle and riding like a moron.

LOL...so I have been buying mustangs instead!

I've got three kids now, pay my bills on time, and enjoy national geographic. ;)

I'm thinking I can be a good boy.

Honestly, i'm a little scared and thus immensely respect the power the bike has.
Besides, couldn't i get in just as much trouble on a 750 cruiser?

·
Registered
2,319 Posts
as people have said, there are "arguments" all the time when people ask if the sv is a good bike for a beginner.