Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I am just starting to learn to ride and am loving it. I'm planning to get a 125cc of some description until I pass my Direct Access and then I'll upgrade (when I have the cash, of course). I saw the SV650s (faired and blue) bike today and fell in love, but appearances aren't everything so I want to do some research and who better to ask about it than the experts? So come on, tell me what's so great about this bike? Thanks.

·
BANNED!!!
4,805 Posts
Naomi said:
Hey guys. I am just starting to learn to ride and am loving it. I'm planning to get a 125cc of some description until I pass my Direct Access and then I'll upgrade (when I have the cash, of course). I saw the SV650s (faired and blue) bike today and fell in love, but appearances aren't everything so I want to do some research and who better to ask about it than the experts? So come on, tell me what's so great about this bike? Thanks.
:) Use the search function.

But seriously, you know you're going to find a biased answer here. But, everyone will have their own little perspective. Anyway, the best thing for you to do is to try to test ride one and find out for yourself.

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
Cheap, reliable, user-friendly motor, popular and lots of people race them so there's a big aftermarket and parts are easy to find. It's nothing special it's just kind of a cult bike. There aren't any other affordable lightweight Vtwin sporty bikes at the moment. As opposed to something like a 600cc or 1000cc four cylinder where every company makes one and you have your pick.

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
Naomi-- First off, welcome to the world of motorcycling and SVRider. Why is the SV so great?

Pros:
CHEAP to own, operate, maintain, and insure.

light weight (370# dry?), very flickable.

Good aftermarket support, highly modifiable.