Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well, I just bought a 2005 sv650s 4 days ago and went for a ride tonight and somehow, ran over a key and it went straight through my rear tire. Now my question is whether to patch it or get a new tire. I've done some searching, and it goes half and half to get a new tire vs patching it BUT thats usually for screws or nails. I had a key go through the tire, so its not exactly a small hole... My current situation is that since I just bought the bike, insurance, registration, I have almost no money left. I might be able to buy a new tire, but it depends on how much they run, its a bit too late to call around, but I just wanted some options and thoughts regarding how safe it would be to patch this. The bike isnt here, so I dont know what tire I currently have on there, but theres quite a lot of tread left. if you suggest a new tire, could you give me some options? Im new to riding, so Im basically a beginner. my current budget ~$120

·
Registered
640 Posts
Replace it. Remember, you're only riding on two tires, if the patch is done wrong, and it goes, you're toast. Just my opinion. ?

Sent from my iPad using Motorcycle

·
Registered
21 Posts
Don't risk it.
I like gambling, but not with my life. Budget no excuse either, since a crash due to sudden pressure loss could be much more expensive than a tire many ways. I've lost tire pressure on the highway in traffic, it sucks!

Suggestion to save money: if you are near a race track, stop by on a race day or track day. Some riders will sell "take off" tires for 30 or 40 bucks, street/dot legal, with most wear way over on the edge where, as a beginning rider, you will probably never put any more wear. Not new, but much safer than a plugged tire...if you bring your wheel with you, might be able to get it mounted for cheap at the track too, since tire vendors are there.

Good luck and keep the shiny side up!

Gary

·