Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdee all, I just xported my '00 sv650 to new home in Portland, OR. I came from Guam (Pacific island). I had drained fuel and oil for the xport. After replacing oil and a new gas tank (due to rust) the bike has NO TORQUE. It takes a few seconds to red line with full throttle in NEUTRAL! I have little mechanical experience and don't know a good shop around here, yet. What are some things I can read about or check to troubleshoot this problem?

Thank you!
Ken

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
no.

I have now drained the float bowls, thanks for the tip though not sure why I would need to do that. The rear drained heavily but the front did not. The front only drained a couple of drops.

She has been sitting about 3 months in a container crossing the ocean.

What about cleaning the carbs? Is that something I can do without disassembling the carbs from the bike? If so, where do I spray the carb cleaner?

Ken

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Aha, now what.

After further testing...

It seems the problem is this: the front cylinder is not getting gas. When I drained the float bowls the front bowl did not have any gas in it. When I sprayed carb cleaner into the front carb the engine ran normally until it consumbed the carb cleaner. I detached the fuel line from the front cylinder and tried blowing into the carb with the float bowl drain valve open. I was unable to force any air through the carb. Looks like a blockage in the carb. Know a good place online for a carb rebuild kit?

·
Registered
430 Posts
carb rebuild? not sure where or why or what is blocking fuel but couldn't you just take er apart and clean it up not to many places there could be blockage. 3 months is not much time...not sure....

maybe the float got out of alignment and is not letting the bowl fill fully? that'd be my first guess... :?