Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am currently living in Minneapolis, but moving to New Orleans at some point this summer. I am contemplating using the bike as my only means of transportation when I am down there. Anyone live in New Orleans? How feasible is bike only? How about security for the bike...I can imagine theft may be a problem... Any input would be appreciated... Thanks

·
Registered
209 Posts
I live in BR, lived outside of NO for a while, here in BR a bike is great, and when I visit NO I see a good bit of bikes. The weather is something to consider though. My jacket is waterproof, (thanks Frank Thomas), and I keep rain pants with me all the time. As for security, who knows.

·
Registered
6,503 Posts
I lived in NO until three years ago, so I have 45 years of experience riding there. Security isn't a big problem. I would cable lock my bike downtown often and never had a problem. The only bikes I knew of that got stolen were stolen from people's houses.

Weather is problematic two ways: rain and heat. Some rain gear that you can pack away (like Frog Togs) is a good idea. There is no solution for the heat other than to get used to it. I love hot weather so it wasn't a problem for me. Until you are acclimatized beware of getting overheated.

It's not a bad town to commute in, but traffic can be a bit rowdy. Rush hour traffic is heavy but pretty orderly.

What part of town are you looking at for housing?

You should think about joining a gym. There are many hazards to your health, like Mandina's, Commander's Palace, Cafe du Monde, etc.

·
Registered
414 Posts
New Orleans-whew. I sort of remember a couple of trips to jazz-fest there and vaguely remember something called bourban street.

·
Registered
414 Posts
The picture in my avatar is north louisiana fishing, so get of the city and get your line wet. the state moto is "sportsmans paradise".

·
Registered
140 Posts