Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
was wondering if anyone could please provide some advice for gaining more low-end power??? i am having difficult doing wheelies and i have heard that if i change up the configuration of the front/rear sprockets i could gain some more low end power??? any and all advice with this would be much appreciated! i am new at this so thanks in advance!

·
Registered
745 Posts
Before I tell you this, BE WARNED!!! Doing wheelies on a SV is hazardous to your engines health. The sv has oil starvation problems. If you loft the front wheel, you starve the engine of oil. Now, that being said, lower your front sprocket to 14 tooth and raise the rear to a 47. You won't have problems lofting the front anymore.

I think your problem might be technique though. I had no problems picking up the front with my stock setup.

·
Premium Member
4,625 Posts
Learn technique first, there is a man on this board you can clutch up 4th gear wheelies on a sv650. Granted most of us cant do that, but fact is it can be done with stock gearing. I changed to a much lower ratio and found wheelies super easy, but the bike buzzed too much on the highway so I went back to stock sprockets, and I can still do the same wheelies as before.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thank you for the input and obviously i have some work to do (any technique advice would be much appreciated!!!)...however, any thoughts on what a good ratio would be for the front/rear sprockets if i wanted to step it up a bit??? also, any thoughts on the chain length would be much appreciated! thanks again for all the help!!

·
Premium Member
4,625 Posts