Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright guys. I think a lot of people may be in the same boat i am. So im going to just ask. Hopefully no one minds. :)

I am a college student and i work enough to pay my bills. I dont have a huge amount of income, and i dont have much saved up. I am looking to mod my 01 SV650s. I am going to get a full street body from kg-cycles in the soon future. If there are some that may be better. Please inform me.

Onto my issue. Again, i do not have all that much money flowing out of my ears. So i was just wondering what are some mods that i should look at first? What are the mods that are most benificial and worth their price? What mods are cheap but will make a huge difference in the way my bike rides/looks?

I apprectiate the information and i request that if you tell me to do 'blank' mod you leave a link where i can get the item you are speaking of. Thank you for all the help and i applogize about the somwhat useless post to many, but extremely important to me.

·
Registered
745 Posts
Get a jet kit. You can find them fairly reasonable, Then...

desnorkle your air filter, then...

Find a cheap full system such as Vance and Hines. You can get a new one for about $300. That's about the cheapest one you can find. I ran one for about a year and a half. They sound kinda mettalic, but they get better with time.

Do the labor yourself and you'll have about $350 to $400 in all of this. Cheap mods, with extra power that you will actually be able to feel. ;)

·
Premium Member
6,199 Posts
A body kit is a huge waste of money IMO.

De-snorkle and jet kit will defly give you more power = ~$20 (jets) - $50 (jet kit)

Front springs and oil = ~$100
GSXR/636 shock = ~$60

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
Zanos said:
I apprectiate the information and i request that if you tell me to do 'blank' mod you leave a link where i can get the item you are speaking of.