Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been a professional web engineer for 15 years, and I've built a dozen computers from components, but I have next to no skills as a 'handyman' as it were. I looked up the instructions to the TPS mod and while the instructions were clear and simple, I fear that I'm going to ruin my bike if I even attempt to mess with the electronics (mainly the 'dealer switch' tool thing).

Can I ask my dealer to make the TPS mod, or do they usually not do that?

Are there any mods that I can make that have little to no risk of hurting my bike due to my own ineptitude?

I ride a completely stock 2008 SV650SA(F?) ABS, Suzuki seems to no longer have the details page up for this model, but here's a pic of the exact bike I have:
http://www.totalmotorcycle.com/photos/2008models/2008-Suzuki-SV650Fb.jpg

I have looked at the many threads that offer lists of mods, such as the TPS mod (or maintenance rather than mod, if you prefer), motosliders, suspension, etc. But as I'm coming from no technical automotive/mororcycle experience, it's difficult to know which parts I should buy (For example, I've read that because I have a Gen II, I shouldn't go with the R6 throttle tube mod)

I suppose the essence of what I'm asking is this:
What are some mods that offer increased performance or riding enjoyment or enhanced aesthetics (visual or audible) that I can make without risking damage to my bike and where can I procure the items unnecessary that are proper for my bike?

Edit: I am 6'2" and 200-210lbs

·
Registered
888 Posts
- Get some frame sliders. They'll save you some money when your bike goes down. Motosliders are the most popular here.

In my opinion, the next two are affordable mods that increased my enjoyability of the riding experience.