Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i've been riding an 06 sv650s for 5 years and 25,000 miles. i use it to commute pretty much exclusively. 20 miles of windy back roads with a short 10 mile stretch of curvy state hwy each way. its a great motorcycle commute. lots of 15-25 mph "posted" corners to carve around and big 45-55 mph "posted" sweepers on the state hwy.

i'm thinking of getting an 07 +/- fz1. why? i dont know. maybe to try something new, satisfy a desire for more hp. i think modifying it a bit over the next few years to get all the absurd power that is available from that engine would be fun. it could end up being the fastest vehicle i ever own.

anyway, reasons to not get one include the reported lack of torque compaired to the sv. but looking at the dyno charts tells me it has more torque across the whole rpm range. from idle to redline. if i'm missing something on this please correct me.

the other resons include poor mpg and faster tire wear. i'll likely end up keeping the sv at least untill summer just in case i dont like the new ride and to get a better price durring the heart of the riding season.

if anyone has traded their sv for a i4 or owns/ed a fz1. let me know your opinions.

·
Registered
384 Posts
I debated on a FZ1 before I got the SV.

Short and sweet...the FZ is strong, it was more bike than I needed to ride daily. That I4 hit is like dope to a junkie.

YMMV.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I have owned a 2003 SV-1000N since I bought it new in 2003. Heavily modded to suit my riding style. Also owned a 2002 FZ-1. The Suzuki does everything right. The Yamaha is a terrific bike, improved with the later models (post 2005) via EFI. My suggestion is to move up to a low miles, well-tended SV-1000. You will have gobs of power and torque and a bike that is very similar to what you've ridden for a good while.
Ralph

·
Registered
368 Posts