Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, my name's Pete I'll be 28 in October. I am a student at USF in Tampa, Fl. I've been riding dirtbikes my entire life, and made the transition to the street beginning in 2005. I currently ride a 2002 Yamaha YZF 600R otherwise known as the Thundercat. I'd love to add some pictures of it, but haven't yet acquainted myself with how to do it on your website. I'm an active member of www.yzf600r.com . It's an excellent forum, and has been very helpful with all of the modifications and work I've done on my 'Cat.

My wife is an LPN, and I got her on her first bike about 2 years ago. It was a 2008 Kawasaki Ninja EX250R. She's decided she's ready to upgrade and after a good amount of research (on my part), I managed to compile a short list of appropriate second bikes. She made the ultimate decision (spoiler: SV650!) based entirely on aesthetics (see: women).

Ultimately I'm looking for a manufacture year between 2003 and 2008. She forgets to take off the choke, so Fuel injection is a good thing. However, I'm not yet confident enough in her riding ability to buy the bike brand new. I'm looking for the fully faired model. (Not sure if the Type S is fully faired, or if you then have to buy the lowers?) She insists on it being fully faired (Think: pretty). Color is the least important as I told her I'd repaint it after she put 2k miles on it. Some combination of Silver and black would be ideal, as she already has around $500 in gear from her previous bike in that color scheme.

Anyway, I'm a real riding enthusiast and excited to hear anything you guys have to tell me about the SV650. I'm sure I'll be quite familiar with it shortly as my wife's definition of "husband" is "live-in mechanic."