Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am traveling to look at a bike tomorrow that has been sitting in the original owners garage for a few months.

He says he started it and rode it about 40-50 miles this weekend. Said it backfired a bit at first and was a little choppy but began to run better the more he rode it and especially after he filled it up with fresh gas.

Says tires have good tread but may be 8 years or so old since he hasn't ridden it much (8700) chain hasn't been replaced.

Should I go for this? I'm a total newb with a newly minted M on my license and just finished the MSF course. I've gotten him down to 1500, but could potentially go lower.

Any advice would be really appreciated, since this bike is cheap and has a dent I think it would be a great starter bike but I don't want to spend all my time fixing it.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It's definitely running and able to be ridden, but the question is how smoothly its running. Its 200 miles away so I won't be able to see it in person till tomorrow evening.

I've taken a look at some of the general used bike guides, but is there anything I should look for in particular tomorrow night?

·
Registered
1,105 Posts
If it has over 15000 miles, ask them if the valves were checked which its due for at 15k miles. If not then you'll have to have that done, which should take a couple hours to check at a shop. More if they are out of spec and need to be adjusted.
Other than that, even if it needed all new consumables, like tires, chain/sprockets, fluids, the price is low enough where I wouldn't consider that a huge deal, but those are things you could use to bargain also if you wanted to. The forks aren't great stock, nor is the rear suspension, ask them if those are stock. If they are, and you want good suspension, then consider that too as an additional cost.