Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
3,738 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need ideas for my senior design project. I'm a Computer Engineering student at the Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech), and I'd love to do something motorcycle related.

Computer Engineering is a lot like Computer Science and Electrical Engineering combined, in that we deal with hardware like microcontrollers and write the code that controls them. Our senior design class is a very open one, nationally accredited (technical writing and industry components), and is one of the top draws for GT's Capstone expo each semester. In other words, we take this class seriously and have the potential to produce serious results.

I'll be in a group of 3-5 people. I'm the only one with motorcycle experience so far, and we also don't actually have a motorcycle. I have access to plenty, but I obviously won't have one parked on the street or in a garage at all time. Keep that in mind as you're suggesting ideas.

Other than that, what can we make better? What can we add? Got an idea for something completely new? Want consumer priced data collection with industry-grade performance? Can I make a better Scottoiler?

This is an actual design class, not a research class. With the appropriate idea I intend to have at least a working prototype to present by the end of the semester. So whatcha got?

·
Registered
3,738 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Does Georgia Tech have a formula SAE team?
Yes, GT Motorsports, and we do Solar Jackets and Wreck Racing. I could definitely contact them for anything I need. I also have access to a ton of microelectronic parts and just about any other facility or equipment Tech has.