Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, wondering if anyone has done this yet. The new headlight feels a little dim to me so maybe upgrading to LEDs might help driving at night.

It seems a lot of people put JW speaker headlights on the older SV gen 2 models for a while but I've yet to find any information.

Wondering if anybody had any information that could point me in a good direction. I'm pretty new to motorcycles, so i'm opening to hearing any input that might help.

Thanks!

·
Registered
73 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Im not sure on a third gen, but you could probably buy an emgo bucket the 7 inch Kawasaki style one usually runs about 45 bucks and then install the jw speaker into that. northridge 4x4 sells the jw speaker for $225.
Not a cheap option, but keeps the style of the bike I guess.

·
Registered
966 Posts
JW Speaker would be the standard that all other 7" buckets are trying to achieve. Farmer_Frank (member here) did an install on his SV with the JW speaker. Here's a link to his how-to:
http://www.svrider.com/forum/showthread.php?t=310785

For a much less expensive option Morimoto has a nice unit. I've seen photo's of it online but never personally seen the beam pattern. Here is a link:
https://www.theretrofitsource.com/closeouts/morimoto-sealed7-bi-led-headlights-7.html

2 bits of advise for you though
- 100000% stay away from LED plug and play "bulbs".
- Ultimately get what you pay for and JW speaker lights are pretty awesome.

·
Registered
2,461 Posts
You can always try the budget option first. Most bikes have a significant voltage drop at the headlight socket. Running your headlight off a relay so it gets full battery voltage and a bright bulb can yield some pretty good results.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #6