Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I'm new to this so bear with me. I just picked up a 2001 sv650 and I think it's running lean. I get this surging between 3500 - 6000rpm. Everything is still stock and I'm pretty sure the previous owner didn't play with the carbs. I read about shimming the needle but I don't know whether or not I should use one, two shims....? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

·
Registered
6,503 Posts
Pull the plugs and look at them. If they are too light then you are too lean. If they look OK there could be another problem. Lean is the most likely reason.

Also, adjust the idle screws to give a good idle after you've added a shim (if you're lean). The idle screws should be as far in as possible while still giving a steady throttle and good response off idle. If you have too rich an idle the transition can be sluggish. It's an iterative procedure. Using the idle screws to make up for the needles' leanness is not the best practice. It might work, but it goes against best practice.

Not all SVs are lean. Mine ran very rich. My idle screws are barely more than one turn open, I punched 4 holes 5/16" diameter in the muffler baffle to get it right. It's sharp and crisp and the plugs run a perfect light tan color.

·
Registered
413 Posts
To make sure it's a lean surge get the bike warm, then on an OPEN and preferrably UNINHABITED straightaway get the bike up to the rev range where the surging occurs. Gradually apply choke and see if it goes away. If it does shim and fix idle screws, if not look elswhere.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I haven't had a chance to work on it yet, but if it isn't lean surge what are some other possibilities?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #8 ·