Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Laid down my 99 sv650 today and now it won't start. Was going to make a turn at a light when someone pulled out in front of me and I wasn't ready for it. Anyways bike went down and shut off , stood it back up and tried to start it and nothing. Had it in neutral, kickstand up, clutch in, killswitch off and nothing happens. It's acting as if a killswitch is on. I push the starter and it doesn't even make a noise, like it's not even attempting to start. Checked the clutch switch and it's still in fine. I'm a newbie to bikes in general, only had this less than a week so any basic noob friendly advice would be great. Pushed it to a parking lot and don't know what to do :(

·
Registered
164 Posts
Does the electrical system work? Do you see the usual lights on the gauge panel?

I'm not sure the exact sequence for your SV, but my Gladius (a very close cousin) has a startup sequence of:

With the kickstand down, and the clutch out when you turn on the key, everything lights up, and when pressing the start button, the headlight turns off, and not much else.

Then, if you raise the kickstand, you should hear the fuel pump(?) start up and make a little noise for a second or two.

Pushing start (with the clutch still out) should show CHEC in the display.

Pulling in the clutch, and it starts normally.

Perhaps this can give you an idea of what interlock is keeping the system from starting.

UD

·
Registered
9,123 Posts