Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to biking and working on bikes, so bear with me here while I try to learn what the crap I'm doing.  LOL!

I installed a new K&N air filter yesterday.  Pricey, but supposed to yield better performance, etc.....right?

When we cranked the bike up after install, it just didn't sound as good as it did with the standard filter.  Does something need to be done as far as setup/adjustments on something else to handle the increased airflow?  I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do now.  Wondering if I should have just gone with a standard air filter.  Bike has Yoshi exhaust.

If it matters.....we changed the spark plugs out at the same time.

Any help or advice is appreciated.

Thanks.

N

·
0 Posts
Conventional wisdom has it that there is no power gain with the K&N and possibly even a very slight loss. If you take this as true (I do) you're not moving any additional air so you shouldn't need to make any significant changes in your carb setup. If you've already jetted appropiately for the Yoshimura pipe or can and it runs well I'd leave it alone.

If just you swapped the stock filter and snorkel out for the K&N you'll get more intake roar -that's what the snorkel is there to reduce (noise emissions).

:)

·
Premium Member
6,199 Posts
I've used the following filters...

K&N
Desnorkled K&N
De-snorkled stock
BMC race

They flow in the order listed above.  To yield any performance gains you need to re-jet.  I'd suggest 2 shims on the needles, 145-150 mains and 2 to 2.5 turns out on the idle jet screw. 

My 2002 came with de-snorkled OEM filter, stock exhaust and the carb settings above with 150 mains... and it ran like a champ.

N

·
0 Posts
donniej said:
I've used the following filters...

K&N
Desnorkled K&N
De-snorkled stock
BMC race

They flow in the order listed above."
Are they listed from worst to best, with the BMC being the best?

·
Registered
113 Posts