Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I uh...did something stupid and the battery's dead. Tried jump starting but it didn't work so any advice on that would help (I tried rolling down a hill, probably going 6~10mph in first and popping the clutch towards the bottom of the hill).

What are my other options? (Yea, I'm a noob to the bike world so I'm pretty sure this is a stupid question but oh well) My other problem is that I tried installing a new seat but one of the screws was on too tight and ended up getting stripped. Seeing as how the battery is under the front seat, if I need to take out the battery I'll need to take care of that problem first. Oh well.

·
Registered
52 Posts
You should try putting it in 3rd when bump-starting.

If you're in 1st you're probably just locking up your rear wheel when you let the clutch out.

Also, to put more traction on the rear wheel, try standing up on the pegs and sitting down forcefully as far rear as possible as you let out the clutch.

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ah yes...I tried the push-start in a higher gear and it worked, but then I was stupid (again) and got excited and put the kickstand down in gear ::) to go grab the rest of my gear. So now it's dead again. Got a little tired so I going to try later. Geez. What stupid mistakes I've been making today.

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Well, I got the push start to work, rode the bike around for an hour or so, came back and whaddaya know, doesn't start. How long does it generally take for the battery to get a decent charge? 2 hours? 3? I think I may just have to do the trickle charge thing if this continues.

·
Registered
296 Posts