Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
3,828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding my SVS for 5 years now with NO insurance. That is correct, from the time I paid off the SVS got the title in hand to today. I have been pulled over maybe 7 times (including 130+mph in a 50 after passing 4 cars on a double yellow...ended up with a $75.00 non traffic violation ticket...long story), had 2 real accidents, and 2 real tickets. I have never had a LEO ask for my insurance. When I was at deals gap for the rally the bobcat tractor ran over my bike, we had a police report done and the cop asked for my insurance, I told him that I left it at home but he didn't really need it since I was the victim. I thought before my next trip (Jerome loop in AZ), I was going to get insurance. Come to findout it only cost $12.00 a month so I went with a $500.00 deductable and got my bike covered at $29.95 a month.

Guess I'm just VERY lucky!

Does anyone have stories about their luck?

·
Registered
5,174 Posts
My record is clean. :)

In CA, the insurance companies report to the DMV whether you have insurance or not. Cops here don't even ask to see it as they pull it up on your record. It also means that if you have a loan the lender also knows if you have insurance or not... No doubt this practice will become standard in most states.

·
Registered
3,828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
My record is clean. :)

In CA, the insurance companies report to the DMV whether you have insurance or not. Cops here don't even ask to see it as they pull it up on your record. It also means that if you have a loan the lender also knows if you have insurance or not... No doubt this practice will become standard in most states.
I simply got lucky in FL and AZ. I would have been screwed if I got in an accident involving another vehicle. Some how I managed to get plates in AZ and register the bike without having insurance.

·
Chief Greeter
28,966 Posts