Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

So I'm relatively new to my SV650S (07), had it basically for a whole season, but I've noticed since I have been riding it that while the stock setup is fine just cruising around the city, whenever I get into some corners the bike feels a little vague and not really as good as I know it is.

Now I immediately identified this as an incorrect suspension setup for my weight (~300lbs). I was just extremely excited to get on my bike right away :) Yes, I know I am a big guy but I also have shorter legs so the SV650 fits me great with a gel seat.

Anyways, so I turned the front preloads all the way in and cranked the rear all the way to the top stops, and while this helped a bit, it obviously is just lacking in the suspension category for a man of my... ahem.. caliber.

So, I am looking to upgrade for the coming season as I would like to get into the twisties a little more without killing myself. Now I know I need to replace my front springs and get some heavier fork oil, and I have calculated my spring needs to be around 1kg/mm according to sonic springs.

Now the x factor is the rear shock assembly. What would the best setup be for a man of my size? I have heard people talk about using a shock from a zx-14 or a GSX-R and upgrading the spring to a higher spring rate (because apparently all the stock springs aren't built for guys my size?) but I don't know what spring rate I'd be looking at or where I would go to find such a spring. I've had the typical "get a penske" response from some people I know but I simply can't afford a $800 shock that I'd probably have to spend more on a spring for anyways.

What do you guys think would be the best setup for a rear shock for me?

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
'04-'05 ZX-10R (10 kg/mm spring rate)

-or-

'03-'06 ZX-6R 636 (9.7 kg/mm spring rate)