Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm totally new to bikes and want an SV650.  Gotta be naked!  ;) I'm looking at the "used" market and found an '01 that has some promise but what concerns me the most is the front wheel is dented from a pothole.  He says the tire holds air fine and it doesn't have any balancing issues.  Are any of you riding on a dented rim?  Is it safe?  Since I'm new to motorcycles, I'm paranoid about safety.  Thanks!

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
My front rim is sufficiently banged up from potholes that every time I get the tire swapped out, the tech asks me "Do you know your rim is dented?", to which I always reply, "yes, I'm aware of it, thanks".

Bottom line for me is:

the wheel is still true; no wobbling, problems balancing, or other performance issues

the tire holds air pressure; only adjustments I need to make are temperature or purpose related...

Would I pass on an otherwise fit bike if it had a dented rim? Nope; If it really bugs you, you can always score a replacement rim on e-bay. HTH.....

[edit: I forgot my manners :-[. Welcome to the site and to the cult of the SV... 8)]

·
Registered
2,196 Posts
I rode a wheel with a dented rim for about 30.000 miles with no problem whatsoever (´cept for the odd mechanic statement as already mentioned). I just changed it to a undented one because of the long-term griping of some riding buddies - should´ve ignored them, actually. *g*
If the bike seems a good deal otherwise and a test ride shows no front end issues, get it.

Ciao
Jan

·
Registered
72 Posts
it's not going to kill anything if it holds air, spins true, and balances. it'll sacrifice some longevity, and if you hit another huge pothole it may crack on you, but it'll be fine if the dent isn't too bad.