Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I am trying to start something here, but I don't understand why it is important to modify a zx or gixxer rear shock to make it right for the bike? If the gixxer or zx shocks make your bike ride the way you want, then why change it? When you change your forks to a set of 750 or 1000 forks, why don't you have to change those too? Please excuse me, but I am a noob, when it comes to suspension.
This was brought up by a post i found on the search that look like an argument between a few members an svraceshop. Like I said not trying to start something, just don't understand.

thanks.

T

·
0 Posts
you may get few different answers but here is my.
all those shocks are made for different bikes with different linkage.they use different spring rate and lenghts.
none is perfect fit for sv.to make it work at its best on sv it is good to revalve and respring.in my opinion that is waste of money.if not happy the way it is stock junk it and buy real shock.you will be less than $50 in hole.
forks are little different,there is no linkage involved.gsxr forks have stiffer springs which are ok for most street riders under 200#.valving is fine for street also so there is no need to do anything unless you race or are fast track rider.it will mostly depend on your weight and you can get away with just changing springs.

·
Registered
202 Posts
^I agree^ I'm just a street rider and I have a stock zx-636 shock and it such a better improvment of the sv's shock. Plus I don't want to buy a aftermarket shock for a street bike.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I also agree, but do you agree that you should get a shock (636,10r,gixxer) revalved and resprung? I really don't see why a stock shock from another bike would hurt. And as far as dogbones ,as mentioned above, is it any different then using lowering links with a stck sv shock?

·
Registered
73 Posts
Drowe said: