Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I couldn't seem to find anything with a nice write up or pictures (probably because it isn't warranted) but I figured I'd put this out there anyway. Maybe it'll end up with the other "vertically challenged" mods.

Also, this is my first real post here. Any (constructive) comments would be greatly appreciated!

I love my SV but it was just a bit too tall for me. On a good day, I have a 30" inseam, and trying to tip-toe down my very steep driveway just wasn't doing it for me, so I decided that some sort of lowering modification was in order.

After considering my options, I decided to have someone replace the seat foam. Unfortunately, I wanted to have it done in less than 24 hours, so that someone ended up being me. I have never done anything like this before, but I am extremely pleased with the results, so hopefully that will give some of you out there the courage to destroy your perfectly (not) good OEM seat. :)

In the end, I replaced the ~3" of factory foam with 1" of super-dense foam, netting me around two inches.

Let's get started, shall we?

My replacement foam of choice is actually a Dynamat product called DynaLiner. it comes in many thicknesses, but I chose a 1/2" thickness mainly because that's what I could find. However, it worked out really well. The foam is extremely dense and squishy. It actually reminds me of a neoprene or something of that sort. Also, it is adhesive-backed, which is pretty sweet. Just peel and stick...very easy to work with. I was also attracted to the Dynamat by the potential human "exhaust-gas" muffling effect. Just kidding. :) I bought an 18x24" scrap of DynaLiner from a local auto-customizing-type-shop.