Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

how long before your first drop with damage?

• 1-30 days

Votes: 16 28.6%
  • 31-60 days

Votes: 4 7.1%
  • 61-90 days

Votes: 8 14.3%
  • 90-180 days

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 180 days - 1 year

Votes: 6 10.7%
  • 1 year - 2 years

Votes: 9 16.1%
  • 2 years+

Votes: 13 23.2%
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2,980 Posts
I've been riding for almost 50 years. That said, I've crashed plenty. My first bike was a Honda CB160. Never dropped it in all the years I owned it. In 1971 I bought a brand-new Honda CB500-4. I crashed that bike plenty of times (usually trashing the exhaust system). Then I bought a new RD350 Yamaha. Crashed it riding home from the dealer (two stroke power was new to me), wrecking the front turn signals and scraping up the front fender. I bought a new SV in 2000- never dropped it. Great bike, and I wanted another, so I bought again in 2003 (loved the FI). Now I'm riding a 2003 SV- not the first 03, but a replacemnet. Crashed it going across Texas and busted the clutch lever and dented the tank. Then I dropped it twice in the same day, no damage. As they say, there are only two kinds of riders- those who've gone down, and those that are going to. I don't think it has anything to do with whether you're a newb or not. **** happens.

·
Registered
7,757 Posts
Day two. Throttle stuck, no clutch control. Took off into the woods, fishtailed around and high sided back into the street. Bent the shifter pedal and the handlebars. 1980 XS400 that I bought for $300. It's still running for the next guy.

·
Registered
17,602 Posts
I dunno...I started riding when I was eight, twenty eight years ago. I rarely "dropped" the bikes, but those damnably pesky trees kept jumping out in front of me with no warning.

I bought my first street bike at...16? 17? I forget which. Three months and 8k miles later it was destroyed when a person crossed the highway in front of me and I collided with the rear quarter panel.