Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2,510 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. Some new sportbikes are coming with adjustable engine braking parameters, and I'm trying to figure out how this technology works.

Is it something that can be applied to bikes like ours via aftermarket black box, or is it too integrated/mechanical to work as a retrofit?

Anyone have any experience with the tech?

·
Registered
87 Posts
I have no knowledge of this firsthand, but I assume that the exhaust valve timing is somehow operated under electronic control to generate the desired level of engine braking. This is essentially the same idea as the famed "Jake brake" isntalled on semis and the like.

·
Premium Member
4,846 Posts
I think that the programmable engine braking (and a lot of other electronic tuning) is done on bikes with "ride by wire" technology, ie, the throttle isn't directly tied to the throttle bodies; the throttle inputs are fed electronically to an ecu that samples other inputs and applies the resulting sum of the calculations to the throttle bodies.

The new Ducati, Yamaha, Aprilia, BMW and Kawasaki 1000's have ride by wire and can be electronically tuned in a variety of ways, besides engine braking.

·
Registered
6,546 Posts
I think that the programmable engine braking (and a lot of other electronic tuning) is done on bikes with "ride by wire" technology, ie, the throttle isn't directly tied to the throttle bodies; the throttle inputs are fed electronically to an ecu that samples other inputs and applies the resulting sum of the calculations to the throttle bodies.
Or simply put variable idle :)

·
Registered
2,510 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ah okay, it's starting to come together (sort of) .

Ride by wire is pretty awesome.

Did anyone read the article (forgot which magazine) about torque by wire?? Now THAT was interesting!