Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
mainly if you have a flat tire? Most people do not have a center stand. If you roll the bike around looking for a nail, don't you run the risk of slicing the tire or puncturing it again because of the nail inside?

I guess on long trips it would be nice to have some CO2 cartridges and a tire repair kit. Pump the tire up, roll the bike looking for the nail, plug it, then pump it up again? I'm just wondering how you do it without creating a disaster. Sorry if this seems stupid, but I'm kind of new at this.

·
Registered
6,503 Posts
Carry a plug kit (worms with glue, not the self-gluing type) and a compact bicycle pump. Roll the bike until you find the culprit. If it is in the tread, if it goes in relatively straight, and if it is a round puncture (screw, nail, etc.) pull it out and install the plug. Pump up with the pump and ride off. You could just pump up and see how bad the leak is. If it is very small try to ride conservatively to a safer area.

Don't even try to patch if the puncture is a cut (like from a broken piece of metal) or if the puncture is in the sidewall. My rule of thumb is that I won't plug if the puncture is past the last groove in the tread toward the sidewall. I have worn out tires with plugs in them.

I am riding a tire right now that has a nail in it. It doesn't leak, so I'm not going to try to fix it.

·
Registered
571 Posts
i don't think rolling the bike to find the nail would cause any more problems than it already has. bike tires are pretty sturdy and even if you had 0psi in it the bike wouldn't sit flat on the rim.

even if the tire was flat so the rim was on the ground, the nail would probably be hitting the inside of the rim if it were long enough. i think you'd really have to work at it to make the nail cause another puncture from the inside out if that is what you are worried about.