Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking at doing some work to my bike, 2001 SV650S. I have tons of experience with automobiles. However, none with motorcycles. I just worry because I have no experience with these and I know everything needs to be perfect.

I was thinking of bringing it to a local shop and let them do the work, but thats a little expensive.

Work I am looking to do:
Change Springs and fork oil
Fix/replace choke cable
Fix Low Fuel light not coming on when low fuel
Remove front and rear wheels to have new tires put on

Just curious how hard this stuff is to do (with the proper haynes manual) myself, or if I am better off just taking it to a shop and having them do it all?

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
You'll pay much more at a shop than you would if you do it yourself, plus it's fun working on the bike!

You can probably find how-tos and miscellaneous advice for all of those things right here on this forum, too.

·
Registered
3,546 Posts
Easy stuff with basic hand tools, the manual and some previous know how.

Invest in some stands for your bike so you can take the tires and suspension off.

·
Registered
87 Posts
It's super easy except for low fuel light (I have no experience with it, it may be easy too) if you have a standard rear stand and a front stand that supports the neck.

The fanciest thing you'll need is a torque wrench.

Your choke is actually an enrichment circuit in the carb. If it's running weird, check the little screw that holds the cables going into each carb. If it backed out, that allows the little stopper at the end of the cables to pull from the fuel passage hole. You can do that on the bike, just lift tank and remove airbox.