Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Buddy picked up an 00 the other day, bike sat for ~4 yrs and has 1036 miles on it.  Had bad gas in the tank.

Drained/flushed tank, put in new gas, when starting it, fuel would pee out of two hoses that appear to be overflows on the carbs.

Came up with theroy that varnished float bowls were causing the flooding.

Got idea of using compressed air to blow into those hoses, along with carb cleaner, then repeat process using fuel intake hose to carbs, causing the entire bowl assembly to become saturated in carb cleaner, and basically flushed/backflushed the fuel system.

After we did this, the bike stopped peeing out fuel.  It is now running better as well.

Short of pulling the carbs out (he is trying to do a track day tomorrow?!?!) which he and I have no experience with on this bike, I suggested that he feeds a very strong mixture of berryman's B12 (toluene) and fuel, runs it at a fast idle, e.g. 2k rpm for about 30 min, then takes it out for a good Italian tune up.  At the end the bike will either run OK, or it will still be gaffed up from sticking needle/float, rust in tank, etc.

Any suggestions would be helpful because our plan is somewhat McGyverish....thanks!

·
Registered
6,503 Posts
Berryman's will dissolve lots of stuff, including any O-rings and plastic gaskets. Also, I think the floats may be plastic, not sure. At any rate, I wouldn't try running B-12. Carbs, fuel pump, petcock, fuel lines would all be at some risk.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
andyauger said:
Berryman's will dissolve lots of stuff, including any O-rings and plastic gaskets.  Also, I think the floats may be plastic, not sure.  At any rate, I wouldn't try running B-12.  Carbs, fuel pump, petcock, fuel lines would all be at some risk. 
What is so different about this application vs. automotive application? We did 2 oz. berrymans to 1 gal gas.

·
Registered
6,503 Posts