Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi SVrider.

I stored the bike away outside for the winter, about 4-5 months with fuel stabilizer. It had a tune-up before. I took it out to start it and the bike won't fire. After awhile of trying to start it while hooked up to a car, it won't even crank. Not a sound. Just the lights turn on. I checked the plugs, they were wet and black, but I don't think it was that bad. There isn't any sparks now. Did I burn something?

I'm pretty new to maintenance and anything with electricals I get afraid. I would bring it in but it won't even start. Thanks in advance for the help.

Long

·
Registered
905 Posts
By 'won't fire' do you mean the starter will not operate (turn over) or that the starter operates but the motor won't fire?

Chances are high that the battery is discharged or dead from sitting all winter without being charged or tended by a battery tender and then the subsequent attempt to start.

The lights coming on with the key really only tell you that there is some charge remaining in the battery, not whether or not there is sufficient charge to operate the starter. Do you have access to a trickle charger or battery tender? Either should have a rudimentary charge indicator/gauge to give you a general idea of the battery charge condition. It would be a worthwhile investment (~$15-40) to purchase one; I own and use a very basic trickle charger (cost ~$20 from Wal-Mart) that charges at 2 or 6 amps for a 12 volt battery and I use the 2 amp 'trickle charge' rate exclusively. Try giving the battery a slow full charge and then attempting to start again if the battery takes the charge.

The spark plugs being 'wet' and 'black' could result from flooding during the attempted start up, in which case you could simply wait an hour or so and retry. Did you smell a strong odor of fuel from the plug(s) when you removed?