Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello and thank you for having me here!

Okay so I'm looking to seriously buy an SV really soon and I would like you to know a little bit about my situation.

I'm a broke graduate student that has been riding for over a year now and is currently riding an EX500 and honestly have been really tired of looking at this fugly bike day in and day out. I've been wanting to upgrade for awhile now.

I initially got a bike to to commute and save money on gas. It quickly turned into an obsession and I quickly realized that the EX was just not a good looking bike. I am also craving more power. I'm a tall guy at 6' 3" 190 and feel a bit scrunched up even though the riding position is more relaxed. It just doesn't feel natural.

So I've been debating on whether or not to get an SS. I love the riding position and the sporty look and feel. It must be a 600 to maintain good gas mileage and my budget is $2800-$3200. I'm looking at a mint condition 06 SV on craigslist right now for $3100 with only 3k mi. My riding will be mostly highway going to work and school and a little touring. I also like the SV for not being an SS and keeping my insurance dirt cheap.

So I guess the question is do you think the SV is the perfect bike for me? All I really want is a nice looking bike that will be reliable, get good gas mileage, and be a good step between my 500 and for whenever I graduate, get a good job and can buy a 1000+.

·
Registered
44 Posts