Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,284 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just about done with my handlebar conversion (s-n) and the last part needed is handlebars - definitely want black, 7/8" bars. I am looking at the Bikemaster Daytona OR the Bikemaster superbike bars. I am looking for a more comfortable position, but also like to ride semi-aggressively and I'm afraid if I go with the Daytona bars, I may lose too much handling. I have been riding with clipons for the last 6 years. Any insight or suggestions are appreciated, and like most everyone on here, cost plays a big part in which parts I can buy (stupid mortgage payment!).

·
Premium Member
613 Posts
I had on Daytona bars for a couple of weeks. I really liked them initially (very natural position and makes the bike easy to handle in traffic), but after a few commutes (work is about 45 miles away), I find that my tailbone was starting to hurt. Too upright for me.

The stock bars are actually pretty good. They gave me an upright position, but not too upright, so that I can still take corners with a little more enthusiasm.

I now have 2.5" rise Swatt clip ons, and I think they're perfect. They are lower than the stock bars, but not too much lower.

If I got back to bars, I think I'd stick with the stock bars.

tk

·
Registered
5,374 Posts
I have a brand new set of bikemaster Daytona bars in black with the tag still on them. Make me an offer and they are yours.

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
I understand that you need to cut an inch or so off the ends of the Daytona bars, in order for cables and wires to reach. What exactly do the bar end weights screw into? Is there a threaded end on the handlebars that's deep enough to cut part of it off?

I have a brand new set of bikemaster Daytona bars in black with the tag still on them
Why did you change your mind?

·
Registered
5,374 Posts