Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 433 Posts

·
Banned
3,813 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know a lot of you guys have seen my SV650 with the GSXR wheels, both front and back...

...I decided to make a pictorial to show how things work together.​

Basically, I really enjoy riding my SV650 like it was a V-Twin lightweight superbike... I wanted to go with a wider tire set up for performance purposes. All late model 600cc super sports use a 120/70R17 front tire and a 180/55R17 rear tire. And there are many good reasons why every manufacturer uses this specific tire set up... But to make it simple, it's because it works best!!!​

Originally I went with a 2005 Bandit GSF1200S rear wheel... Mainly, because it was easier.... A lot of people have done it before... with old GSXR750 and GSXR1100... The RF900 also uses the same rear wheel as the Bandit GSF1200S!!! However this is a heavy wheel.​

I started playing with the idea of a much lighter 2006-2007 GSXR 600 or GSXR750 rear wheel back in July of 2008 after seeing SPIERINGS' 2003 SV650 with that set up. unfortunately SPIERINGS did not know how was it possible to make it work. Also SPIERINGS' GSXR rear wheel had been machined... I did not like that idea much... Shortly, after I picked up a 2007 GSXR750 on EBAY and started to measure all parts and compare them to my Bandit GSF1200S set up.​

I figure that the GSXR rear wheel did not needed to be machined... No new wheel bearings were needed. Only a few parts needed to be machined to make the set up work... After making several sketches and measuring everything some 50 times. I order from a local machine shop a set of spacers and machined some parts. Well it did not work the first time but I did found out where the problems were... Back to EBAY to get parts and a new set of spacer where ordered and new dimensions on the GSXR and my SV components.​