Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,061 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Disclaimer: I am not responsible if you mess up your bike. I cannot guarantee anything will work for you. I don't know everything there is to know about gauges. I am a mechanical engineer, not electrical. ;D

I have managed to put, what I believe to be, (eBay - you never can know for sure) 2001 GSX-R750 gauges on my 2005 SV650s.

Things that work 100%:
  • Hi Beam indicator
  • Turn signal indicator
  • Neutral light
  • Tachometer
  • Oil Light

Things that seem to work but have not been tested yet:
  • Speedometer - works, but I'm sure it's off. Based on my calculations the new gauges should read about 44% or 88% (I think the GSX-R uses 4 pulses per rpm, so that would put us at 88%) of what the stock ones read. I have not fully tested this yet.
  • Temperature - It displays a number that seems correct, but I have not verified that it is yet.
  • Fuel light - I believe it will work the same but haven't fully tested it yet.

Issues:
  • FI Light - It randomly would come on and just about every error code in the book flashed up.
  • Won't mount up the same as the stock gauges - duh. If you are attempting this, then I think you should be able to figure out some way to mount them.
  • Probably won't work on 03-04 SV's.

I believe the 03-04 gauges are different. My wiring diagram shows a few differences with the gauge wiring. If anyone has successfully switched between 03-04 and 05+ then please let me know.

I also don't know if all 05+ are the same. They may have switched at some point. My factory manual only goes up to 2006. My guess is that this will work on the SV1000, but I haven't verified that.

Also, I think this should work the same on the S and naked models, but I think the wiring diagrams are different and I don't know what's different or why.