Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts
N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie looking at bikes to purchase and have narrowed my choices down to two. Obviously those are the GS500F and the SV650S. I just have a couple of quick questions if anybody would be willing to answer them...I would appreciate it. My biggest concern with the GS500 is that it's not water-cooled. I know that it's supposed to extend the life of the engine and is overall better for it and also lowers maintenance. Has anyone had any problems whatsoever with this? Fuel injection is another issue I have. The SV has it and the GS does not. Is that any kind of problem that I should be worried about? What would be the positives and negatives about these bikes? I've done a lot of research and know what I think, but maybe there is something else I haven't thought of or come across that an experienced rider of these bikes would know. I appreciate any info that one could give...thanks in advance.

Nate

·
Registered
33 Posts
First generation SV's are not fuel injected. '99-'02. and they look the best ;D wish I could help you on the other Q's good luck. I got my sv as my first bike.

·
Registered
482 Posts
I would definitely recommend the GS500F. I would not be too worried about FI right away. You shouldn't notice any of the issues associated with carbs that some speak of. The GS is about .5 an inch lower to the ground, so it's a little better suited for the new rider. Also, I tend to think the SV is not very forgiving to new riders, despite what some might say. The gs is a great bike and will allow you to learn the intricacies of the motorcycle without worrying about over-doing the throttle. Just an opinion.

K

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5