Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,510 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I replaced my stock grips a few months back with progrips just for style, but I noticed since I started riding that my hands tend to go numb.

I think I may have posted about it, or maybe I read about someone else having the same issue, but I remember the consensus being that I was holding on too tight. Maybe I needed to use my core muscles, or grip the tank with my legs/knees.

Anyway, I decided that experience may solve the issue. It's been a few thousand miles now and it seems that no matter what I do my hands go numb after a half hour or so.

I'm fairly convinced that it's not an issue with tension or core muscle.

It's possible that it's an ergonomic problem, but I don't know what to do.

The only thing that is obvious is that 'regular' sport grips are too small in diameter for my hands. I have "piano" fingers, which is to say long and thin.

Anyone have any advice? Know of any grips that aren't cheesy chrome Harley accessories? Or maybe someone out there has also struggled with this and found a solution?

Thanks.

·
site supporter
6,051 Posts
Either too much weight on the grips (although with a naked that's less usual than with an "S" model) or you're gripping the bars too tightly. Is it both hands or just your throttle hand? Try using a Throttle rocker (or there's a similar kind of thing) that will allow you to keep your palm open and still control the throttle. If that works (it's $10 and worth it) that tells you something.

·
Registered
2,510 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Mikey, I'm in Tulare.