Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks,

I've been collecting a pile of parts for my 'new' Gen 2 2009 SV650S, I have a clean '11 ZX14 rear shock standing by, (I'm a FATTIE AT 240+ compared to most of you'se guys it seems ;-)..) I have my eye on a Penske rear off a Gen 1 / 2002 SV650...

If I'm not off base, Gen1 OE shock is 8-10mm longer than the Gen 2 OE shock, (*...which apparently is a plus?? ) but aside from that, I assume non-disqualifying on its own fact,.
..is there any reason an aftermarket shock off a Gen 1 SV would NOT work on a Gen 2 SV ?

* I read a thread in here where a member was referencing several factors to be addressed to improve the SV handling in general, aside from the obvious: upgrade w/ better susp. parts..
there were also a cpl lines in there where he referenced the stock rear end just being set up too low stock, IIRC between 10-20mm or so too low?.. I cannot recall if that was specifically for the later SV's with the shorter shocks or ? Also, if not running a longer shock,..are the aftermarket dog links that raise the rear (or lower) a feasible option to lifting the back a bit if that's where i would like to go with it..? would love to confirm some of this..but I cannot for the life of me find that freekin thread again or the answer to this specific compatibility question.

I'm fairly confident it's all good, (holy smokes the "search" in here?!? wtf!) but would love a li'l confirmation..

Also, any feedback on relatively local suspension service providers near so. cal/ so western US.? worst case ill get the ZX shock serviced and swap it in 'til I find the right aftermarket rear....

Any / All feedback will be appreciated.

Thank you!

·
Registered
'07 SV650S, '05 Ninja 250
1,140 Posts