Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I took my bike out for the inaugural ride with gauges. Everything works and I am real happy. However, I have noticed a slight shake in the front end when coming to a complete stop. It is not jarring or violent, but noticable. I have no idea how many miles are on the pads and rotors, but they appear to have plenty of life left in them (not worn down)
What could cause this???
I double checked that all bolts are tight.
Any thoughts???

·
Premium Member
9,691 Posts
warped rotor maybe.

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Nexus242 said:
warped rotor maybe.
I thought about that. The thing is I have not ridden the bike in almost 3 weeks. Before that I have only ridden it about 6 times since I got it. My point, is my base line for the SV doesn't really exist. I am not a novice and I do my own maintenence. I will inspect the wheel and pads. The weird thing is, I don't remember a shake last time I rode, hmmmm?????

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
well, it looks like the left rotor has some play in it. Compared to the right, which is firm when you wiggle it side-to-side. Time for new rotors and EBC HH pads plus some fresh fluid.

K

·
0 Posts
arnt they floating rotors
so play would be good.
if it was stiff then the butons the rotor floats on are stuck
this happens on my dads tuono he has to lube the button things so they spin freely

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Kid Thunder said:
arnt they floating rotors
so play would be good.
if it was stiff then the butons the rotor floats on are stuck
this happens on my dads tuono he has to lube the button things so they spin freely
yes they are and yes you are right.
One rotor has play and the other does not. WTF???
Everything is tight, not loose or missing bolts. There is only a vibration at lower speeds when braking....
Perhaps some lube and another test ride

·
Registered
23 Posts