Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been attempting to install a new set of Sonic Springs into my stock gen1 sv650 forks, and since I had it all apart, I decided to go ahead and swap out the oil seals and do a full maintenance on them.

I've been following: http://www.bluepoof.com/motorcycles/howto/svs_fork_oil/

and so far had much success (especially since this is my first time working on the bike) I've got new oil seals back on and even got the dampening rod bolt screwed back on the bottom. But this is where I ran into my issue.

With the Dampening rod bolt screwed in, my forks seem to be stuck in full compression. I can move them maybe 1/5" and they are stuck solid. When the bolt is out, the forks move no problem. I've reference a few other threads about this (People either say there is a vacuum causing this issue, or the oil lock plastic is stuck) but have yet to find a viable solution. The mallet and pull thing didn't work, and I've even tried bleeding a little fork oil into it and working it in.

Has anyone else had this issue? am I just tightening the dampening rod bolt wrong? Any help or input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance!

·
Registered
243 Posts
Are the yellow plastic bushings stuck? I had that problem when I did mine. I just ran the bolt through and yanked them loose. If you take yours seals, etc. Off and pull the fork apart, you will see what I'm talking about. Make sure the plastic 'thingies' are not jammed into the bottom of the top portion of the fork. That will cause your problem. Sorry for my lack of technical terms.

Just pull the forks apart, put the damper rod into the top only, screw the bolt in a bit, and yank the damper rod through the bottom to break free the seized part.

Good luck and I hope this helped.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·