Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm still a noob - but I'm putting around 30-60 miles a night on the bike, trying to get into different situations (traffic, lots of stops, open roads, twisties, starting up hills, etc.) and tonight I almost scared myself. It was both AWESOME and afterwards worrisome.

I respect the bike and what could happen to my life every time I ride. Tonight I kind of got into the zone and the bike and I became one for about 20 minutes. I was paying attention to the road, but everything just kind of happened in front of me and I was in the zone. Heavy leaning (might have started to chip away on the chicken strips), totally relaxed in traffic, etc. I had no destination, I just rode.

After a while I realized what was going on and I started to get a little choppy on the throttle, worried that I could have killed myself during that time I was riding in the zone - forgetting I was even riding really.

I'm not sure what the point of this post is, but I was both excited about getting that feeling tonight but also a little worried about it afterwards. I feel like I'm way too noob to feel that confident. I almost want to go back out and put in another hour or two. I've read stories about newer riders getting to a point where they become over-confident and end up doing something stupid.

·
Registered
1,217 Posts
(might have started to chip away on the chicken strips)
I like to call that a "safety margin" not a chicken strip. It tells me that I'm not gonna run out of tire.