Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Loaded the SV with everything I'm bringing to a camping/bbq/party at the end of July. The camp chair, tent and sleeping pad held nicely being lashed together, bungee'd to the saddlebags, and cinched down with the tailbag on top. I'm going to add a strap that will hold the three rolls to the grip bar on the tail to keep it from sliding forward when braking. Other than that, everything was nice and solid for a half hour test ride. I didn't even have to expand the saddle or tailbags, and I still have plenty of room in my tankbag.

This is my first time taking the bike on an overnight ride. I've really only commuted or taken joyrides until now, but I'm really looking forward to the trip, even though it's not a great distance. If anyone has any tips about riding down 95 and the Capitol Beltway, I'm all ears. :)

-Jim

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
Make sure you have a tire puncture repair kit, duct tape , zip tyes, and water a's SVtommy said.

·
Registered
374 Posts
Here is my sv on a recent trip to west virginia from nj. To tie down the north face duffle bag i used buckle straps i bought at rei and attatched them from the front of the passenger seat and rear area up to the daisy chain on the duffle. Than i tied down the kriega on the daisy chain as well. The gas can was bungeed to the duffle. Its a great bag to use on a bike as its water proof and better built than most specific bike luggage. The daisy chain makes it a breeze to tie down to anything. 70 litter bag ran me only 90. That buys you a budget motrcycle specific tail bag that isnt water proof or durable.

·
Registered
384 Posts
I use Rok straps tied to the helmet hooks and the grab rail.

Works real well.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·