Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a 2002 650S and will pick it up next week. I am new to riding so until I get comfortable with riding and learn how to ride I will be leaving all performance related components on the bike stock. I am a tinkerer and a mechanic so I gotta turn wrenches on it. Anyways, I am thinking of custom building an undertail out of fiberglass and finding some other brake lights and turn signals. I can work with fiberglass so it will be an easy build. Any ideas as far as lights and ways to mount the liscence plate will be appreciated. I am not fond of the way the plate is mounted on a stock bike, it is kind of tacky looking. I was thinking of mounting it as far back into the undertail as possible. If anyone knows of any good lights that I can use that will be as bright as possible (gotta be seen, ya know?!?!?!) and still look good then leave me a link so I can check them out. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
19 Posts
As always, my recommendation for the first modification done to a bike, any bike, is .... wait for it .... Frame sliders! Good luck, happy motoring.

·
Super Moderator
8,820 Posts
+1 for frame sliders ... they save a lot of money on radiator and other part repairs.

Most of us here are using www.motosliders.com because they are more robust and seem to protect more than the OEM ones which suck but are the only option if using lower fairings.

I speak from experience ... get the sliders on first thing.

What comes after?

You want bling or performance?

Performance ... upgrade the suspension first.

Bling ... loud pipe and ... whatever your heart desires.

·
Registered
397 Posts
160th?

·
Registered
571 Posts