Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Here it is took me several hours to type it and get it right, This is a highly detaled how to, for swaping your stock SV650S clip-on handlebars to SV650 Naked handlebars.

All pictures are at the bottom of the second post.

For anyone who hates having a sore back, wrists ect. this swap is for you, the 2 inches up and 1 inch back is worth every penny of the aproxmit $300 price tag.

Please note this information is intended for the 2003+ SV650S models

To start I would like to qualify myself, I have preformed the swap of SV650N (naked) handlebars on to an SV650S (2003+ model year) on my own bike as well as max_boost’s bike (pictures of his bike are in the 4 post), both with very successful outcomes, although I am no mechanic.

Disclaimer: Everything stated herein is for reference and is accurate to my knowledge. However I am sure there are things that I am unaware of and I do not make any representation that this information is complete or totally accurate. Therefore any user of this information must be responsible for any outcomes and your own actions.

As this guide is not all inclusive to performing this swap, you should have a good mechanical ability as you will be removing and replacing many key parts of the bike including brakes, ignition, steering components ect. If you do not have this ability don’t try this or find your self someone who does have the ability.

In order to swap the clipons on a SV650S to the handlebars of the SV650N you will need the following items.

• SV650N handlebars - $55.60 new, part number 56111-17G10
  • SV650N clutch cable - $10.11 new, part number 58200-17G00
  • SV650N upper triple tree and bar clamps - $220+ new or around $100 used
  • SV650N brake line - $60 new (I opted for Goodridge stainless lines - $90 new)