Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. Im new to the SV1000S. I just got mine yesterday, and iv logged a few miles on it. Mine is an 04.

Iv been reading around and searching for some answers to just a couple general questions, but im not finding exactly what im looking for.

Question 1.
Iv read the the new gearboxes are pretty clunky and notchy till they have a few miles on em. I expect this as my bike has only 22 miles on it now. When i took my first spin on it, i got er up to 35mph and was getting ready to hit 3rd gear, using the clutch, and as soon as i let the clutch out and rolled on the throttle the back tire locked and i slid it about 5 feet and almost stalled the bike. I grabbed the clutch and it unlocked the rear wheel and i regained control and stopped. Needless to say this didnt please me lol. What would you suspect caused this?

Question 2.
Is it safe to shift clutchless on the new tranny or should i be using the clutch for the break in period?
Is clutchless shifting on this bike just as simple as rolling off throttle upshift and roll on throttle?

Question 3.
Its been a little less than easy getting the bike to go into Neutral. Its almost like i have to firmly place it there with my hand. This is a brand new bike, and noone other than myself has been on it. From the factory, are the clutches usually adjusted near to where they need to be? I havnt got in there and looked at the clutch adjustment yet, but i plan to study up on it and take a look this week. Anyone have a how to for the clutch adjustment handy?

Welp, thats about it. I love this bike so far. Cant wait to logg some miles cruisin!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Question 1: WTF? If I had to guess, I would say your tranny is screwed. Or perhaps you went from 2nd to 1st accidentally and experienced major engine braking!? That's all i can think of.

Question 2: If you like your tranny, always use the clutch.