Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
due to too many accidents? I've been riding for roughly two years now and I've been down 4 times. Do you ever think to yourself "****, I've dropped my bike twice inside of 3 months. I should just stop before I kill myself" More now than ever I am considering quitting.

Good news is I was fully geared the last two times I've been down. No injuries whatsoever. AlpineStar Octane one piece + sidi b2 + AlpineStar GP Pro gloves

FEB 09 went down in canyon lowside, just got too far over & abrupt rather than smooth initiation of turn. In fast out fast was the idea there. that cost me ~ 700 to fix.

APR 09 coming to stop light & realizing light was red grab too much front brake bike kicks out to the side and I'm off it sliding into intersection. cars were stopped all around so I was lucky. Bike ended up somewhere around 3/4 of the way through I end up around 1/2. was too wrapped up in the fact that I was running on fumes after a long tense ride down from the canyon when I realized my fuel light was on steady. I guess the lesson here is don't ever ride when you're that distracted by something other than the road. stupid stupid sh it.
going to be ~450 to fix.

·
OberKommandant
6,127 Posts
No. When I've wrecked, I've adjusted my attitude toward the sport, but never even considered giving it up.

·
Registered
5,174 Posts
I did for awhile, but that wasn't because of wrecks. Just circumstance. Hope I don't have to again.

·
Premium Member
3,499 Posts
Nope. In 29 years of riding I have never once considered it. But (knock on wood) I have never crashed or even dropped a street bike. I can't say the same for dirt bikes and I have the scars to prove it, lol.

·
Lifer
5,220 Posts
I've put the bike on the ground more times and keep getting back on. Cheer up dodger. You'll start laughing about it soon ;D